The House Divided Project’s Workshop on Reconstruction

The House Divided Project at Dickinson College hosted a one-day teacher’s workshop on Reconstruction.

We started with a presentation from Matt Pinsker highlighting the capabilities of the House Divided Project’s website and ideas teachers can use in the classroom.

Next was Greg Downs of the University of California Davis Campus. His presentation was based on his book, After Appomattox, and he discussed the military occupation of the former confederate states and demonstrated his website on occupation.

Finally, Anne Sarah Rubin of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County Campus. She spoke on Sherman’s March and demonstrated her website on Sherman’s March.

This was an outstanding workshop and provided us an introduction to digital tools that can be used by students of all ages for research and learning. My thanks to Matt and the staff of the House Divided Project, as well as all who helped make this successful event happen.

2 comments

  1. Shoshana Bee · · Reply

    I can not praise this project enough: I watched it real time and enjoyed every minute of it. I took extensive notes on all of the speakers, and , I came away with pages of new information. I almost missed the workshop altogether, so thank you so much for bringing this excellent program to my attention!

    1. I’m very glad you enjoyed it. I enjoyed attending it tremendously, and I’m very grateful to have had the opportunity to do so.

Leave a Reply

