The Civil War Is Over!

Here’s historian W. Fitzhugh Brundage of the University of North Carolina giving a lecture on how the Civil War is seen today. He advances the case that the war’s status is transitioning from memory to history. He provides evidence that as demographics change and as the war recedes more into the timeline and smaller percentages of Americans have a personal connection to it, the arguments over its issues also recede and eventually will die out. As evidence he contrasts the Centennial with the Sesquicentennial. It’s an interesting perspective. What do you think about it?

3 comments

  1. Anne Peasley · · Reply

    Hello Al

    I am Anne Peasley and the current president of the Sacramento Civil War Round Table. Our group was recently asked by one of our members if we would consider changing out the controversial Civil War battle flag for an earlier flag representing the Confederacy.

    When we meet monthly, we have two flags, the United States flag, to which we pledge, and the aforementioned non controversial Confederat States flag.

    Our logo on our business cards has the battle flag as does our stationery, monthly newsletter, and website.

    The Houston CWRT changed their logo in this way.

    One would have thought I asked our club to consider disowning our very parents!

    I actually had a woman scream right up in my face.

    I held a board meeting and they suggested the whole ” flag thing was a tempest in a teapot.” They wanted me to have an ANONYMOUS vote for changing the flag.

    And by the way, I’ll no longer be president past December.

    Sigh. I’m ok with that. But I’m going to have a show of hands at the next meeting concerning the flag “issue.”

    No hiding.

    I believe they will let me edit their monthly newsletter.

    What is your policy on permission if I wish to include any of your fine blogposts?

    Anne Peasley

    1. Hi, Anne. Thanks for the comment. If you’d like permission to include any of my posts, just ask which one you’d like to include. This is only so I know which posts are being distributed. The permission won’t be any problem. Just my two cents on the flag, it seems to me that your use of it is historical in nature with the context of representing the Civil War itself, so I don’t personally see a problem with it. It is, of course, up to you and your club what to use. I hope you come to consensus very quickly on what to do. All my best.

  2. Bob Nelson · · Reply

    The volume was so low as to be almost unintelligible. So after a few minutes of trying to hear him, I gave up.

Leave a Reply

