1,000 Posts

With this missive, this blog has now hit 1,000 posts.

When I started this blog on June 30, 2012 I wasn’t sure I would have that much to say.  The blog evolved along the way and is still a work in progress, but I’ve been very humbled and thankful for the reception it had among a number of folks.

When I first started the blog I envisioned it as a sort of repository for much of the research I’ve done over the years on Civil War-related topics and as a guide to help those who are just starting their Civil War studies by passing along things I’ve learned along the way, but it’s become more than that.  Along the way I decided I would do my best to have new content on as much of a daily basis as I could.

I can honestly say this has been a fantastic experience.  It’s helped me clarify my thinking on a few topics and has inspired some inquiries into a few areas I wouldn’t have tackled at this point yet.  And I’ve been able to interact with some terrific readers.

When I started the blog I made the decision that even if I was the only one who ever read it, I would make sure I was happy with it, and I wouldn’t worry about pandering to what I thought was what others wanted.  I think it would have led to frustration for me and I think ultimately it would have been an insult to those who would read the blog.  It’s very rewarding to see signs there are folks out there who have an interest in some things I post.

What I’m getting at is a big thank you to all of you who have been reading the blog and especially those who have engaged in the conversation.  I appreciate your interest and your participation very much.

Looking ahead, this will continue to be a family-friendly place.  I  heavily moderate the comments, and I’ll continue to do so.  I’m not perfect in that, but I will continue to do the best I can at it.  Some folks have submitted comments that didn’t get posted.  In several cases it was easy to see they were trolls who didn’t deserve to appear.  In some other cases I had questions about the person making the comment due to some red flag I saw, and I figured better safe than sorry.  In any event, I’m going to continue to make sure parents will have no concerns about their kids visiting this site, and those who are genuinely in search of knowledge and help have a safe place.

I will also continue to do my best to keep putting new content on the blog.  There will be more videos, book reviews, results of my research into various topics, and commentary on various items of interest that deal with the Civil War, Reconstruction, and their legacies.  I’ll be looking to add a few more wrinkles as well.

Feel free to keep commenting and keep the discussion moving.

Thanks again for reading and participating.  You’re the best.

8 comments

  1. Congrats, Al. I regard your work here as a public service. It has been immensely helpful to me, as well as just being fun.

    1. Thanks very much, Chris. I appreciate your kind words.

  2. Jimmy Dick · · Reply

    I will echo Chris and say that your work is important in the American Civil War field. I enjoy the materials you present, your interpretations, and your comments. You fill a much needed role in this area of historical study.

    Congratulations on 1000 posts. I’ve been along for the ride most of the way and am grateful for your blog. Thanks a lot!

    1. Thanks, Jimmy. I appreciate it very much.

  3. Pat Young · · Reply

    Congrats Al. I check out you blog several times a week and have found it very helpful in keeping up to date. I watch at least one video you post every week, follow a lot of your links, and read your reviews. I especially enjoy your close readings of documents.

    You have also helped me by responding to my inquiries.
    Thanks again.

    1. Thanks for the kind words, Pat. I’m very gratified to have been of help.

  4. Bob Nelson · · Reply

    Congratulations, Al. I believe it is us who owe you a “thank you.” 1000 posts in three months short of three years is really something. This is a great site and I learn a great deal from your posts and the videos you recommend. Nice going.

    1. Thanks, Bob. It’s very humbling. I hope the blog can get better for the next thousand posts.

Leave a Reply

