Oh, Gee, What a Surprise–Not

The Gift That Keeps On Giving is predictably upset about the Memphis City Council’s move to change the names of three parks.  Story here.

There’s nothing worthy of note there, but there is in the nature of some of the reactions–at least this one.

What makes this worthy of note is the link at the posting.  So far I’ve seen no one there protest it.  It’s a link to a site called “Southern Nationalist Network.”

Let’s take a look at some items in the article.

“It should be noted that Memphis’s population is now 62% Black and less than 30% White.”  –  Why should we note that?

” ‘New South’ democracy and equality mean that Southern heroes are cast aside while people (such as those who staff the local government) with no regard for the historic Southern identity and culture of the city are allowed to push their anti-Southern and anti-White agenda.” — So then anyone who isn’t a confederate can’t possibly be a “southern hero,” and anyone who’s not white is by definition “anti-South.”  I guess to these folks there can’t be any southerners who are of any race but Caucasians.  Interesting.

Let’s take a look at a couple comments from the loyal readers at the site.

GregFannin-SCV on February 5, 2013 at 9:16 pm

With a large dusky population, what would one expect!

Jim on February 5, 2013 at 9:22 pm

No doubt with White, Northern Trendy-Lefties egging them on in the background. Too many Southerners ignore this fact. There’s nearly always a Yankee at the bottom of it.

At least one other member of TGTKOG gave the posting a “Like.”

Hmmm.  Why would anyone think neoconfederates are racists?

9 comments

  1. [...] As you might imagine, lots of people want to chime in on this matter, as you can see here, here, and here. [...]

  2. I just had a wild weekend in my university’s history club on this discussion. Needless to say there are many there that feel renaming the parks are wrong and an example of bad revisionist history. When I explained when those parks were originally named and how it was to perpetuate the Lost Cause myth a few went nuts on it. They didn’t see any Lost Cause association at all and then accused me of being a bad historian who would get a new one ripped into me for my poor arguments.
    Bear in mind I have an MA in American History and they are all in the BA program. None of them have taken the Civil War course at the graduate level. Most of them are in the military history or public history programs as well. So as you can guess that exchange got quite heated.
    When it was pointed out that a historian or two opposed the renaming of the parks they associated that with meaning all historians opposed the renaming. My blood was already boiling at that point so I linked an article from 2005 on the NBF myth and his place in Lost Cause mythology and statemetns by many respected Civil War historians, not the SCV kind who aren’t really historians at all but more like propaganda ministers for the Southern Heritage folks.

    1. Thanks for the comment. Might want to point them toward Gary Gallagher, Alan Nolan, et al, The Myth of the Lost Cause and Civil War History.

      Also, Ashdown and Caudill, The Myth of Nathan Bedford Forrest.

      1. I’m a budding seasonal Park Ranger at Chickamauga & Chattanooga during the summers, and invariably I get attacked for criticizing the Lost Cause. I’m a born a raised Georgian, but I find the blatant disregard of historical evidence astounding. I think I’m going to start carrying around copies of the ordinances of secession and the Cornerstone Speech to hand out to southern apologists, rather than waste my breath trying to convince them of the reality of the propaganda they espouse. Thanks for suggesting Gallagher. Are there any other scholarly books that you would suggest that may offer a significant rebuttals to these impending verbal attacks? I expect it will be especially harsh this summer, seeing as it’s the 150th anniversary of Chickamauga this year.

        1. Thanks for commenting. I really envy you being immersed in history all summer. I don’t know how much good it will do for some of these folks. I’ve quoted the Declarations of Causes over and over and they just ignore what the secessionists themselves said. I think Charles Dew’s Apostles of Disunion is fantastic http://www.amazon.com/dp/081392104X/?tag=googhydr-20&hvadid=14013233995&hvpos=1t1&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=192383531373328492&hvpone=13.50&hvptwo=&hvqmt=b&ref=pd_sl_5ghmolzzho_b . I also enjoyed William Freehling’s 2-volume The Road to Disunion. http://www.amazon.com/The-Road-Disunion-Vol-Secessionists/dp/0195072596/ref=pd_bxgy_b_text_y and http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/019537018X/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=081392104X&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1Q4PXBJ1RY8G01V7EKBA

          Speaking of Freehling and Georgia, I think you’ll find Secession Debated: Georgia’s Showdown in 1860 edited by William Freehling and Craig Simpson very useful. http://www.amazon.com/Secession-Debated-Georgias-Showdown-1860/dp/0195079450/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1360717904&sr=1-3

          And of course there’s always Gary Gallaghe, Alan Nolan, et al, The Myth of the Lost Cause and Civil War History. http://www.amazon.com/Myth-Lost-Cause-Civil-History/dp/0253222664

  3. Oh, I’ve been carpetbombing them all day with new posts. James Loewen links, David Blight’s Yale course lecture series, and Alfred Young’s obit in HNN. (same people hate gender, race, and class studies). I’ll link these with them tomorrow.
    “Historians would rip you a new one!” Really? I did my homework and it’s funny how I found a lot of historians that agree with me about the Lost Cause issue and that park. I have the first book on my shelf too. One of the main guys I was arguing with also tried to bring up how the Hartford Convention was an attempt to get New England to secede. Unfortunately for him I have also done my homework on that event as well. He is still in denial.

    1. Ah, the old Hartford Convention saw. I should do a post on that. :)

  4. Make sure you use what Morison said about the convention and no serious historian thinking it was about secession. Have you noticed how the Southern Heritage folks always drag that convention up? They fall into the same old mythical illusions because they just do not take the time to do any research into history.

    1. I’ve noticed that.

      I have Timothy Dwight’s comments on it as well as the journal from the convention, and a number of quotes from historians.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

